QA401 amp load question

Relative newbie here, please bear with me. I’m trying to understand the implications of putting the sense resistor at the bottom of the load like this:

load

Is it safe to use such load with QA401 with the internal attenuator off provided that voltage across R2 is connected to +/- differential inputs and doesn’t exceed 6dBV?

Hi gvl

Is your amp single ended or is it a bridged output?
If it is single ended, there is no problem to connect the QA40x in single ended mode across R2 (assumption is, that R3 is replaced by a wire going to the amps minus output).
Please note that with the given resistor values, the load your amp is seeing is only 1.1 Ohm - too low for most amps.
If the amp has a bridged output stage, I would stick with the 3 resistors. The resistor values still give a quite low 2.1 Ohm load.
Good luck

Hi AVO,

Just trying to build a universal load I can use in a variety of applications, so it’s both single ended and bridged, and class D. I should have been more specific, and R1 will be 4 or 8 ohms, R3 will become a wire, and the value of R2 is TBD.

Is a load that contains 3 resistors preferred for bridged amps because amp output terminals may have a voltage relative to ground that can damage the analyzer? Does the 6dBV limit apply when measured across differential inputs or does it also apply to each differential input relative to ground?

At the end of the month I am putting out a video on my Youtube channel where I show the 4/8ohm load that I built for the QA40x which is not that expensive to build and has taps for measuring higher power levels so the QA40x won’t be damaged.

Hi gvl
The QA40x audio analyzers have a floating power supply for the audio section without galvanic connection to the USB signals and hence you computer. This is important to avoid ground loops, noise and allows for e.g. have the analyzer ground connected to an output of a bridged amplifier.