QA401 - Differential measurements with attenuation

Hi All,

Currently I have been making a THD and THD+N using a single ended connections between the output of my amplifier through a custom T-pad attenuation circuit of approximately 33dB.

My question is.

If I wish to make differential measurements from the output of my amplifier to the QuantAsylum QA401 using the attenuation circuit described above I’m going to need two of them. One Attenuating the speaker positive and One Attenuating the speaker negative. Both will use the same resistor values and will connect to the differential input on the QA401.

Is that correct or do I need to go about it a different way?

Hello,

since I have some experience doing such measurements with the external attenuator, I’ll can share it.
Theoretically, your idea will work, but you can expect bad CMRR.
The example article: https://e2e.ti.com/support/amplifiers/f/14/t/848102
I achieved more than 80dB CMRR using 10-turn trimer resistors for the attenuator, alligned with the QA401 input (very short and simple):

1. Connect your attenator as close as possible to QA401 inputs.
  2. Decide will you use internal 20dB attenuator or not. The alignment works either for w/ or w/o internal, but not for both cases.
  3. Bring the very same input signal to the both (+ and -) inputs, then, adjusting the trimers, try to get the smallest possible levels in FFT view. Try with sine 1kHz, perhaps triangle too.

Hi Zoran,

Thank you for the response.
This is my current setup and my current results. I would like to try and remove and common mode noise.

I must admit I have not taken many differential measurements in the past but surly a CMRR of 80dB
is better that using a single ended input.

I don’t quite understand your point 3.
Why do you bring the same, input signal which I assume is the speaker + positive output to both
the (+ and -) inputs?