QA402 - Separating Function Generators, speed and plug-in help

I’m trying to roll the 402 into my product reviews and put myself in a weird scenario.

Is there a way to run two completely independent tests simultaneously? I have a five-channel amp on the bench. I’d like to monitor one of the full-range channels at 1kHz for THD_N/SNR/Amplitude and the other channel at 60Hz. I didn’t see a way to dedicate the output of the function generators to only one channel.

Second, and maybe I’m just a newb, but is there a way to increase the speed of the measurements? I am used to the QA401 and really like it. The 402 is taking 10x longer to acquire and process.

Last, I tried using the THD vs Amplitude plug-in, and it seems to change the input attenuator back to the lowest setting.

Hi @Dave_MacKinnon,

I think the 40x software should be faster than the QAAnalyzer (for the QA401) because less data is moved around. I just ran a test of THD vs In/Out with a small FFT (video below). The FFT size has an big impact on the test time. But in this case, I did a 1K FFT just to check the speed of things when you had to wait a minimum of time for the actual acquisition. It runs through 30 tests in 7 seconds. Every so often, you’ll see a 250 mS pause–that is due to some additional time needed for the relays to settle.

So, in short, for the same FFT size and same test, I think the QA40x should be just a bit faster. Please try and compare and let me know if you are still seeing something odd.