Newbie Questions

Hello All,

I’m new to QuantAsylum and am expecting UPS to deliver my QA-403 later today! I’ve already been reading a lot on this site and am really looking forward to getting up to speed on the software, once I have the hardware in hand to play around with.

I’ve been accumulating gear for years and have been doing what I’d characterize as “very basic” bench testing of vintage preamps, power amps, integrated amps and receivers using a homebrew of ARTA software, a Motu M-2 USB Audio Interface, bench DVM’s, and a DSO. Mainly I do Frequency Reponse plots and spectrum analysis to get THD+N at 1kHz and at various power levels (usually 1W rms and peak “non-clipping” power).

So I’m looking to the QA-403 to enable me to do more sophisticated, rigorous and repeatable testing. But I fully expect to be on a learning curve for a while. So I’m hoping maybe you all can help me with a little advice/sanity checking as I get started? Thanks in advance!

Also, I’m interested in a reasonable degree of precision, but not going crazy over “ultra-precise” measurements. In other words, for my purposes I am not concerned with THD+N to the 5th decimal place. I’m much more concerned with repeatability and usability, and 3 decimal places is generally more than enough for the gear I measure. If I can eventually end up getting “reasonably” reliable results down to the 4th decimal from the QA and my setup (cables/loads/environment/procedures and practices/etc.) then I will be ecstatic.